Self image, exercising and the whole shebang

I haven’t blogged. I would go back and check to see when I last blogged but I’m pretty sure it would depress me. The fact is, it really has been a nonstop, action packed schedule for me. I say that, and I probably have no excuse given what both Ashley and Sara do, but the fact is that I get up in the morning, come into work around 8:00 and leave late. Last night was our Tweetup and I didn’t get home until 9:30. Tonight is Mashable’s event here in Atlanta along with an interfaith sort and I find myself double booked and not thinking (and quite honestly, not caring) about working out. I want to go home and sleep for a million years, but I find myself waking up in the middle of the night and I never feel like I get a decent amount of sleep. But I realize now, more than ever, the working out has GOT to happen.

The other night, I was out at Target when I spotted a super cute dress and I tried it on. Guys, I looked pregnant. It almost had me wondering if I’ve been carrying a baby around in my belly for a couple of months and hadn’t noticed (and then I would quickly become a girl on the show I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant). It was a horrible feeling and I didn’t like looking at myself or being myself at that moment. God forbid the day I actually become pregnant–I’ll be so depressed. And it’s not like everything I wear makes me look pregnant–the jeans and top I have on today are fierce as were the wine colored tights I wore yesterday–but in that moment, I hated myself and my body.

The sad part is that this event came after a great day where I played softball for the first time in years and I LOVED IT. I missed it. The swing of the bat, the feel of the glove…it’s an indescribable feeling I get when I play and I realized how much I actually missed it. I gotta figure out a way to get that feeling back and apply it to all my working out.

On the food side, I’ve been trying to eat healthier. This isn’t easy when we have dinner debacles or I’m not even home in time to have dinner with Billy, but I am trying. A lot of fruit is usually in my diet as are almonds. Love almonds. There have been hiccups here and there, but nothing I can’t overcome.

It’s the exercise with my schedule. It’s killing me. I have to find time to work on me and it feels harder and harder to do so.

1 Comment »

  1. Sara Said:

    Don’t beat yourself up too hard. Sometimes there are not enough hours in the day. Working out is important, and sometimes it does require sacrifice. I (extremely crazily, by others and my opinion) get up at 4:45 in the morning to get to the gym to start right at 6:00*. And there are some mornings, where it is painful to leave my bed. But I know if I wait till after work, it’s not going to happen. Vegging on the couch watching Bones is going to happen. You just have to find out what works and motivates you.

    *I’ll add that my idea for getting up at this time in the morning started last summer when I had problems sleeping and I started waking up around 5:30 in the morning. I figured, as long as I am up, I might as well do something.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment